Record Display for the EPA National Library Catalog


OLS Field Name OLS Field Data
Main Title Drought Planning for Small Community Water Systems.
Author D. Winstanley ; J. R. Angel ; T. P. Bryant ; H. V. Knapp ; M. A. Palecki
Other Authors
Author Title of a Work
A. M. Russell
H. A. Wehrmann
CORP Author Midwest Technology Assistance Center (MTAC), Champaign, Illinois.; Illinois Univ. at Urbana-Champaign.; Illinois State Water Survey Div., Champaign, Illinois.; Environmental Protection Agency, Chicago, IL. Region V.
Year Published 2006
Report Number MTAC-TR06-02; EPA-X829218-01; ISWS-CR-2006-01
Stock Number PB2009-103960
Additional Subjects Droughts ; Water systems ; Communities ; Water supply ; Water shortage ; Water management ; Supply and demand ; Planning ; Surface water ; Ground water
Library Call Number Additional Info Location Last
NTIS  PB2009-103960 Most EPA libraries have a fiche copy filed under the call number shown. Check with individual libraries about paper copy. 05/12/2010
Collation 114p
The provision of adequate and secure supplies of clean water at reasonable cost is a cornerstone of social and economic development and national security. Major droughts have occurred in the past and will occur again in the future. Such droughts have two major impacts on small community water systems: water supply is reduced (surface waters and shallow groundwater) and water demand increases. The combination of these impacts can result in major stresses on the ability of water systems to meet demand. Many Western states have experienced widespread and severe economic and environmental impacts of worst-case droughts in recent years, and have recognized from these experiences the importance of improved water-supply planning and management, including drought preparedness. However, it is probable that many system managers in the Midwest Technology Assistance Center (MTAC) region have not evaluated their capability to meet water demand during major droughts, nor have in place adequate plans to deal with such emergencies. The MTAC region incorporates the 10 states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin.