Record Display for the EPA National Library Catalog


Main Title Rising tide : the great Mississippi flood of 1927 and how it changed America /
Author Barry, John M.,
Publisher Simon & Schuster,
Year Published 1998
OCLC Number 39205458
ISBN 0684840022; 9780684840024
Subjects Floods--Mississippi River Valley--History--20th century ; Flood control--Mississippi River--History ; Mississippi River Valley--History--1865- ; HISTORY--United States--State & Local--South (AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, VA, WV) ; NATURE--Natural Disasters ; Mississippi (rivier) ; Overstromingen ; Politieke aspecten ; Gevolgen
Additional Subjects Humphreys, A A--(Andrew Atkinson),--1810-1883 ; Eads, James Buchanan,--1820-1887 ; Percy family
Internet Access
Description Access URL
Sample text
Contributor biographical information
Publisher description
Library Call Number Additional Info Location Last
EIAM  F354.B47 1998 Region 2 Library/New York,NY 01/13/2020
Edition 1st Touchstone ed.
Collation 524 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, map ; 25 cm
"A Touchstone book." Includes bibliographical references (pages 481-496) and index.
Contents Notes
Prologue -- Part 1: The Engineers -- Part 2: Senator Percy -- Part 3: The River -- Part 4: The Club -- Chapter 5: The Great Humanitarian -- Chapter 6: The Son -- Chapter 7: The Club -- Chapter 8: The Great Humanitarian -- Chapter 9: The Leaving of the Waters -- Appendix -- Notes -- Bibliography -- Acknowledgments and Methodology -- Index. An American epic of science, politics, race, honor, high society, and the Mississippi River, Rising Tide tells the riveting and nearly forgotten story of the greatest natural disaster this country has ever known -- the Mississippi flood of 1927. The river inundated the homes of nearly one million people, helped elect Huey Long governor and made Herbert Hoover president, drove hundreds of thousands of blacks north, and transformed American society and politics forever. A New York Times Notable Book of the Year, winner of the Southern Book Critics Circle Award and the Lillian Smith Award.