Record Display for the EPA National Library Catalog


Main Title Between the world and me /
Author Coates, Ta-Nehisi,
Publisher Spiegel & Grau,
Year Published 2015
OCLC Number 912045191
ISBN 9780812993547; 0812993543; 1925240703; 9781925240702
Subjects United States--Race relations ; Race discrimination--United States ; African Americans--Social conditions ; African Americans--Public opinion ; Whites--United States--Attitudes ; Fathers and sons ; BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY--Personal Memoirs ; SOCIAL SCIENCE--Discrimination & Race Relations ; HISTORY--United States--General ; Whites--Attitudes ; Afroamerikanismus ; Ethnische Beziehungen ; Erlebnisbericht ; African-Americans--United States--Social conditions ; African-Americans--United States--Public opinion ; Afroamerikanismus--(DE-588)4141590-5 ; Ethnische Beziehungen--(DE-588)4176973-9 ; Erlebnisbericht--(DE-588)4133254-4 ; USA--(DE-588)4078704-7
Additional Subjects Coates, Ta-Nehisi--Childhood and youth ; Howard University--Students--Biography
Internet Access
Description Access URL
Cover image 9780812993547.jpg
URL http://9780812993547.jpg
Library Call Number Additional Info Location Last
EJAM BEPAC E185.615.C6335 2015 Region 3 Library/Philadelphia, PA 08/15/2016
Collation 152 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm
Contents Notes
Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a framework for understanding our nation's history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of "race," a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men -- bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden? Between the World and Me is Coates's attempt to answer these questions in a letter to his adolescent son. Coates shares with his son -- and readers -- the story of his awakening to the truth about his place in the world through a series of revelatory experiences, from Howard University to Civil War battlefields, from the South Side of Chicago to Paris, from his childhood home to the living rooms of mothers whose children's lives were taken as American plunder. Prologue: The talk -- The changes -- The second change: Malcolm and the body -- The third change: Mecca and the death of mythology -- The fourth change: New York and the death of mercy -- The fifth change: Gettysburg and the long war -- The sixth change: Chicago and the streets -- The seventh change: Eyes open to the world -- The eighth change: The blast -- Epilogue: Into the world.