Record Display for the EPA National Library Catalog


Main Title Bacterial Sorption of Heavy Metals.
Author Mullen, M. D. ; Wolf, D. C. ; Ferris, F. G. ; Beveridge, T. J. ; Flemming, C. A. ;
CORP Author Environmental Research Lab., Athens, GA. ;Arkansas Univ., Fayetteville. Dept. of Agronomy. ;Guelph Univ. (Ontario). Dept. of Microbiology.
Publisher c1989
Year Published 1989
Report Number EPA/600/J-89/319;
Stock Number PB90-200692
Additional Subjects Soil microbiology ; Sorption ; Lanthanum ; Cadmium ; Copper ; Silver ; Electron microscopy ; Isotherms ; Reprints ; Heavy metals ; Gram-negative bacteria ; Gram-positive bacteria ; Bacillus subtilis ; Escherichia coli ; Pseudomonas aeruginosa ; Bacillus cereus ; Soil contamination
Library Call Number Additional Info Location Last
NTIS  PB90-200692 Some EPA libraries have a fiche copy filed under the call number shown. 07/26/2022
Collation 9p
Four bacteria, Bacillus cereus, B. subtilis, Escherichia coli, and Pseudomonas aeruginosa, were examined for the ability to remove Ag+, Cd2+, Cu2+, and La3+ from solution by batch equilibration methods. Cd and Cu sorption over the concentration range 0.001 to 1 mM was described by Freundlich isotherms. At 1 mM concentrations of both Cd2+ and Cu2+, P. aeruginosa and B. cereus were the most and least efficient at metal removal, respectively. Freundlich K constants indicated that E. coli was most efficient at Cd2+ removal and B. subtilis removed the most Cu2+. Removal of Ag+ from solution by bacteria was very efficient; an average of 89% of the total Ag+ was removed from the 1 mM solution, whereas only 12, 29, and 27% of the total Cd2+, Cu2+, and La3+, respectively, were sorbed from 1 mM solutions. Electron microscopy indicated that La3+ accumulated at the cell surface as needlelike, crystalline precipitates. Silver precipitated as discrete colloidal aggregates at the cell surface and occasionally in the cytoplasma. The results indicate that bacterial cells are capable of binding large quantities of different metals. (Copyright (c) 1989, American Society of Microbiology.)